Model produced by: Paul’s Model Art (Minichamps)

Year: 1980
Driver: Alan Jones (Australia)
Team: Williams Ford
Car: Williams FW07B
Results: 5 wins, 10 podiums, 3 poles, 5 fastest laps

After some impressive results which resulted in the domination of the second half of 1979, Williams were hoping to be big players in 1980. Renault too were hoping to make waves with their turbo charged engines which had given them a win the previous year.

Renault were leagues ahead of everyone else to start with as their turbo charged dominance saw them at the front of the grid and tearing away from the rest of the cars. But after a few races there were several drivers in contention for the championship, and further on into the season it was clear that Australian driver Alan Jones was to take the driver championship and help lead his Williams team to their first Constructors championship – the first of many for the team. Nelson Piquet was also a regular on the podium as his Brabham constantly fought at the front and brought him three victories.

1980 was also debut season for two great champions, Alain Prost (who started career with McLaren) and Nigel Mansell (who started career with Lotus).

See the fight between Alan Jones, Nelson Piquet & Gilles Villeneuve at 1980 Argentine GP


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s